Greater Manchester & Cheshire

Residents invited to enter Hattersley & Mottram garden contest

Liverpool Garden Competition 2018

Do your flowerbeds turn heads? Have you worked hard to transform your yard? Does your lawn leave the neighbours green with envy?

Green-fingered Onward residents in Hattersley and Mottram are being invited to show off their glorious garden creations in our Garden Competition.

Whether you have a basic balcony or a sprawling community allotment, there’s a category to suit everyone, with prizes for the winners and runners-up!

The Categories

New shoots Award 

For young gardeners aged 5 to 16 years old. Entries can include window boxes, terrariums or hanging baskets as well as larger projects.

Cultivate Award 

This category is for those gardeners who are just starting out and want to develop their outside space (before and after pics required).

Guerrilla Gardener Award  

For work done on community spaces. If you’ve helped create and maintain a community garden or communal area, this is the category for you.

Plant Pot Garden Award 

You don’t need a big garden to enter. This category is for those who want to show off their planters, containers or hanging baskets.

Bee Friendly Award 

We want to help support British wildlife, so this category is for those gardens that create a natural habitat for our birds, bugs and other animals.

Gardener of the Year Award 

If you just want to show off your garden and don’t quite fit the other categories you can enter our Gardener of the Year award. All competition entrants will also be automatically in with a chance of winning this prestigious award.

How do I enter?

Nominations are now open and the closing date for entrants is 31 July 2019.

To enter, send four photos of your garden along with the category you would like to enter and your contact details to:

Alternatively, you can post or drop in your photos to:

Samantha Powers, The Hub, Stockport Rd, SK14 6AF

All entries will be displayed throughout August and the finalists will be visited by a panel of judges. Winners announced on 6 September.